New Teacher & Mentor
Information Center

About EYE


EYE provides novice teachers with school, district, and state support for a three-year period. All new teachers are required to participate and all requirements must be completed within the first three years of service. The goal of the EYE program is to encourage Level 1 teachers to develop successful teaching skills and strategies as described in the Utah Professional Teaching Standards (UPTS) with assistance from experienced colleagues.

Domains & Standards

Teachers evaluate their strengths and weaknesses in three domains of teaching: The Learner and Learning, Instructional Practice, and Professional Responsibility. There are ten standards within these three domains of teaching.

 Regular Education
 Special Education

Learner & Learning (Standards 1-3)
Instructional Practice (Standards 4-7)
Professional Responsibility (Standards 8-10)

Teacher Resources